CWC takes up division of J&K, Article 370's revocation (Lead)

The meeting was attended by outgoing Congress President Rahul Gandhi, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, senior party leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Ahmed Patel, Priyanka Gandhi, Harish Rawat, P. Chidambaram, A.K. Antony, Veerapa Moily, Deepender Singh Hooda and K.C. Venugopal, among others.

In a big triumph for the government, both the Houses of Parliament passed the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill 2019 and adopted the resolution to scrap Article 370 of the Constitution, paving way for bifurcation of the state into two UTs -- J&K with Assembly and Ladakh sans one.

The Congress has appeared divided on the issue of Article 370 with several senior leaders backing the Narendra Modi-led government on its decision on Kashmir.



Source : ians

Related Articles

Leave a Comment