DC vs CSK Thrilling Moments: Highlights from IPL 2023 67th Match

On 20th May 2023, in the highly anticipated 67th match of IPL 2023 CSK flagged their legacy and defeated DC by 77 runs. Gaikwad, Conway scored 79 and 87 runs respectively. Chahar took three wickets while Pathirana and Theekshana took two wickets each.

By Crickified Mohit
New Update

The 67th match of IPL 2023 between DC vs CSK

Highlights from the match between Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings

  CSK 223/3 (20)
  DC 146/9 (20)

  CSK won by 77 runs
  Player of the MatchRuturaj Gaikwad (CSK)

On the 20th of May 2023, the much-anticipated 67th IPL 2023 match of the season will take place at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi between two fierce rivals - Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings. CSK won the toss and opted to bat. CSK while batting first scored set the high target of 223 runs by losing 3 wickets in 20 overs. DC failed to conquer the target and could score 146 runs by losing 9 wickets and lost to CSK by 77 runs.

Conway-Gaikwad made a blazing start to the innings for Chennai, contributing 52 runs to the team's score in the powerplay without losing any wickets. Gaikwad was the standout player, scoring an impressive 79 runs off just 50 balls, featuring three boundaries and seven sixes. Conway showed his exceptional batting skills, smashing 87 runs off just 52 balls, with eleven boundaries and two sixers. Despite these impressive performance, Chetan Sakariya of DC managed to take the crucial wicket of Gaikwad. Anrich Nortje also contributed to the downfall of Conway by taking his wicket.

Delhi Capitals (DC) started off their chase of 224 runs in a rather tumultuous manner, losing three wickets in the powerplay and scoring only 34 runs. Prithvi Shaw (5), Phil Salt (3), and Rilee Rossouw (0) were the ones who returned to the pavilion early on. David Warner, the captain of the team, played an outstanding innings scoring 86 runs off just 58 balls. He hit seven boundaries and five sixes during his explosive knock. Unfortunately, no other player could contribute much to the scorecard in today's match.

The Chennai Super Kings' (CSK) Deepak Chahar proved to be a formidable opponent, taking three wickets, while Matheesha Pathirana and Maheesh Theekshana took two wickets each. Tushar Deshpande, Ravindra Jadeja managed to take one wicket each.

Short account of the history of the DC and CSK Teams
DC, a joint venture between the GMR Group and the JSW Group, was established in 2008 upon the inception of IPL. Formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, the team underwent rebranding in December 2019 and is now referred to as DC. Despite their best efforts, DC has yet to secure an IPL championship title; however, they achieved second place in 2020. On the other hand, CSK has emerged victorious four times in the IPL championship - specifically in 2010, 2011, 2018, and most recently in 2021 - cementing their status as the second most successful team in the league.

The present status of teams and a detailed analysis of players
David Warner is the captain of DC. This season, Delhi has emerged victorious in five out of the thirteen matches played so far. In their last match, they managed to defeat PBKS by a margin of 15 runs. The team put up an impressive target of 213 runs with only 2 wickets lost, which their opponents failed to chase down. The batters did an exceptional job, and the bowlers also enjoyed great success in the last game, taking down eight wickets of PBKS. Rilee Rossouw's performance was commendable as he scored an impressive 82 runs off just 37 balls. Anrich Nortje and Ishant Sharma managed to clinch two wickets apiece, while Axar Patel and Khaleel Ahmed were able to secure one wicket each. It's worth noting that Axar Patel made a significant contribution to the team's success with his impressive bowling skills.

In the ongoing season, the leading team CSK, under the captaincy of MS Dhoni aka Captain Cool, has won seven out of thirteen matches played so far. Although they lost their last match against KKR, it was a closely contested game. In that match, CSK set a decent target of 144 runs by losing six wickets and their rivals were able to chase it down successfully. Deepak Chahar also put up an impressive performance by taking three wickets in that match.

In the previous match between CSK and DC, CSK emerged victorious with a comfortable margin of 27 runs. The game was a closely contested one, as both teams' bowlers managed to take eight wickets each. Matheesha Pathirana of CSK claimed three wickets, while R ahul Chahar took two. From DC, Mitchell Marsh was able to take 3 wickets, while Axar Patel managed to secure 2 wickets. As per the latest points table, CSK is currently in second place with 15 points, while DC is struggling at the ninth position with only 10 points. Notably, Axar Patel did not feature in this match for either team.

The head-to-head record between DC vs CSK is worth noting
Over the course of past IPL seasons, there have been 28 face-offs between DC and CSK. Out of these matches, CSK emerged victorious in 18 while DC managed to win just 10 times. It's clear that when DC and CSK go head-to-head, it's always a closely contested battle.

Here are the details about the upcoming DC vs CSK game, the venue and pitch report
The Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi provides an alluring platform for an exciting battle between the bat and ball. The pitch at this venue is particularly favorable towards batters, thereby encouraging stroke play and creating the potential for high-scoring games. Pacers, on the other hand, are likely to find some assistance from the surface, making their role pivotal in dictating the outcome of the match. The toss could also play a significant role in determining which team holds the upper hand. It might be beneficial for the team winning the toss to choose to bowl first. Based on recent matches played at this venue, we have witnessed several high-scoring encounters where batters have reigned supreme.

Predictions for the winner of DC vs CSK and expectations from the game
While looking at the current season Teams performacnes, it is evident that CSK is outperforming DC. The batting and bowling line-ups of CSK are exceptionally strong and stable, whereas DC has been struggling with their line-ups in recent matches. However, it appears that they have now settled down. With exceptional spinners and pacers on the team, as well as high-capability batters who can score targets as high as 200+, CSK has an edge over DC. Based on past history where CSK has won most of the matches against DC, predictions suggest that CSK will be the clear favorite to win the upcoming match.

Playing XI's 
DC Playing XI:
David Warner(c), Phil Salt(wk), Axar Patel, Aman Khan,  Rilee Rossouw, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Khalil Ahmad, Anrich Nortje, Yash Dhul, Chetan Sakariya
Impact Players:  Mukesh Kumar, Abhishek Porel, Ripal Patel, Praveen Dubey, Prithwi Shaw

CSK Playing XI: MS Dhoni(c)(wk), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajinkya Rahane, Tushar Deshpande, Moeen Ali, Maheesh Theekshana, Deepak Chahar, Ambati Rayudu
Impact Players: Matheesha Pathirana, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh, Subhranshu Senapati, Mitchell Santner

Latest Stories