Uncover the Epic Showdown: KKR vs LSG IPL 2023 68th Match Highlights

On the 20th of May 2023, in a highly anticipated 68th game of IPL 2023, LSG emerged victorious over KKR. Nicolas Pooran scored half century while Ravi Bishnoi and Yash Thakur took two wickets each.

By Crickified Mohit

The 68th match of IPL 2023 played between KKR vs LSG

Highlights from the match between Kolkata Knight Riders vs Lucknow Super Giants

  LSG 176/8 (20)  
  KKR 175/7 (20)  
  LSG won by 1 run  
  Player of the match Nicholas Pooran


On the 20th of May 2023, fans of Kolkata Knight Riders and Lucknow Super Giants will be treated to a thrilling match at Eden Garden in Kolkata. This will be the 68th match of IPL 2023, where KKR has won the toss and decided to bowl. LSG batted first and managed to score 176 runs in 20 overs while losing 8 wickets. KKR, on the other hand, scored 175 runs in their allotted 20 overs, losing 7 wickets in the process. Despite their best efforts, KKR fell short of LSG's total by just one run and lost the match.

LSG made an impressive score of 54 runs while losing only one wicket in the powerplay. Unfortunately, opener Karn Sharma was dismissed at just 3 runs. The rest of the team, including Kock, Mankad and Badoni, scored below 30 runs in today's match. However, Nicholas Pooran was able to achieve a half-century by scoring a total of 58 runs off just 30 balls, with four boundaries and five sixers. On the other hand, KKR's Vaibhav Arora, Shardul Thakur and Sunila Narine were able to take two wickets each while Varun and Harshit managed to take one wicket each as well.

KKR got off to a strong start in their chase of 177 runs, scoring an impressive 61 runs in the powerplay while losing just one wicket. Venkatesh Iyer was the first to depart after making 24 runs. Rinku was the star of the match with his impressive knock of an unbeaten half-century, scoring 67 runs off just 33 balls. His inning was adorned with six boundaries and four sixes, leaving the opposition team in awe. While Jason Roy managed to score 45 runs, it was Rinku's exceptional performance that stole the show. Unfortunately, Captain Nitish Rana could only manage to score 8 runs before returning to the pavilion. The bowling duo of LSG's Ravi Bishnoi and Yash Thakur proved effective, taking two wickets each.

Short account of the history of the KKR and LSG Teams
Established in 2008, KKR is a highly popular Indian Premier League team that has won the IPL championship twice, first in 2012 and then again in 2014. Currently owned by Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, and Jay Mehta, KKR continues to deliver impressive performances on the field. In the most recent season of 2021, KKR secured an admirable second-place position among their competitors. LSG was founded in 2021, is currently under the ownership of the RP Sanjeev Goenka Group.

The present status of teams and a detailed analysis of players
KKR, led by their captain Nitish Rana, has won six out of the thirteen matches played this season. In their recent match against CSK, KKR emerged victorious against the star-studded team. Defending a decent target of 144 runs, their opponents lost six wickets with Varun Chakravarthy and Sunil Narine taking two each. Captain Nitish Rana played a vital role in the win with his contribution of 57 runs while Rinku Singh scored an impressive 54 runs alongside him.

Krunal Pandya is the leader of LSG, which has emerged victorious in seven out of thirteen matches played in the current season. In their latest match against MI, LSG won by a narrow margin of 5 runs after setting a decent target of 177 runs. The team's bowlers, Ravi Bishnoi and Yash Thakur, took two wickets each while they managed to secure five wickets in total. Marcus Stoinis delivered an exceptional performance with an impressive score of 83 runs off just 46 balls in LSG's last game.

KKR currently holds the seventh position on the points table with a total of twelve points, while LSG sits comfortably at third place with fifteen points.

The head-to-head record between KKR and LSG is worth noting
During the previous IPL season, KKR and LSG had played against each other twice. Both times, LSG emerged victorious over KKR.

Here are the details about the upcoming KKR vs LSG game, the venue and pitch report
KKR and LSG match will take place at at Eden Garden, Kolkata. The iconic Eden Gardens stadium is set to offer an enthralling match, particularly for the batsmen. With high-scoring potential, the team that remains composed, adapts seamlessly to the conditions and capitalizes on crucial moments of the game is expected to emerge victorious. Opting to bat first after winning the toss could prove beneficial at this venue.

Predictions for the winner of KKR vs LSG and expectations from the game
Based on a review of past IPL statistics, it appears that LSG has consistently outperformed KKR. In the current season, both teams are performing well in terms of batting and bowling. However, LSG is currently leading KKR in points on the table. Despite this, recent matches have shown that KKR has improved their performance and playing at home could give them an advantage over LSG. Taking these factors into consideration, it is predicted that KKR will be the favored team to win the upcoming match against LSG.

Playing XI's
KKR Playing XI: Nitish Rana(c), Ramanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Andre Russell, Harshit Rana, Jason Roy, Vaibhav Arora
Impact Players:  Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Jagdeesan, Mandeep Singh, David Weise

LSG Playing XI: Krunal Pandya(c), Quinton de Kock, Prerak Mankad, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Ravi Bishnoi, Nicholas Pooran, Swapnil Singh, Naveen ul Haq, Krishnappa Gowthan, Mohsin Khan
Impact Players: Yudhvir Singh, Yash Thakur, Daniel Sams, Deepak Hooda, Kyle Mayers

Latest Stories