MI vs SRH: A Thrilling Match of IPL 2023 - Recap and Highlights

On 21st May 2023, in the highly anticipated 69th match of IPL 2023, Cameron Green scored century and led the MI won the match by 8 wickets. Akash Madhwal break down 4 wickets of SRH. Green named player of the match.

By Crickified Mohit
New Update

The 69th match of IPL 2023 between MI vs SRH

Highlights from the match between Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

  SRH 200/5 (20)  
  MI 201/2 (18)  
  MI won by 8 wickets  
  Player of the match Cameron Green


On 21st May 2023, the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will be hosting the 69th match of IPL 2023, featuring a thrilling face-off between two formidable teams - Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad. MI won the toss and opted to bowl.


SRH had a strong start in the powerplay and managed to retain all their wickets. Vivrant Sharma and Mayank Agarwal, the SRH openers, put up an impressive partnership of 53 runs during this phase of the game. The duo continued their good form and added 140 runs for 83 balls before MI's Akash Madhwal ended their partnership by taking the wicket of Vivrant. He scored an impressive 69 runs off 47 balls, including 9 boundaries and 2 sixes. Madhwal also took Agarwal's wicket; he scored a total of 83 runs off just 46 balls, which included eight boundaries and four sixes.

MI's Akash Madhwal managed to take an impressive 4 wickets while Chris Jordan from MI took one.

In the match, MI had a target of chasing 200 runs. Despite losing the wicket of Ishan Kishan, they were off to a strong start in the powerplay, scoring 60 runs. Rohit Sharma and Cameron Green then formed a solid partnership, adding 128 runs in just 65 balls and contributing 73 runs to the Team score. Rohit scored an impressive half-century, smashing 8 boundaries and one sixer for a total of 56 runs off just 37 balls before returning to the pavilion. Cameron Green played an explosive inning of 100 runs for 47 balls, hitting 8 boundaries and an impressive number of eight sixers. The team's score was also boosted by Suryakumar's contribution of 25 more runs. It was another great performance from MI!


Bhuvneshwar and Mayank Dagar from SRH took one wicket each.

Short account of the history of the MI and SRH Teams
Established in 2008, Mumbai Indians (MI) are currently owned by Reliance Industries, the largest conglomerate in India. MI is the most successful team in the IPL, having won five titles to date. On the other hand, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) was founded in 2012 and is currently under the ownership of Kalanithi Maran from the SUN Group. Despite being a newer team, SRH managed to clinch the championship title in 2016 and were the runners-up in 2018.

The present status of teams and a detailed analysis of players
MI, the Mumbai Indians team, is led by the talented captain Rohit Sharma who is also known as hitman. In the ongoing season, MI has played thirteen matches out of which they have emerged victorious in seven. Unfortunately, their last match against LSG was lost by just a narrow margin of 5 runs. Despite having a strong start to their innings and appearing like they would win the match against their rivals, MI failed to chase down the target and ultimately lost. Nevertheless, Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan gave impressive performances in the last match while Jason Behrendorff took 2 crucial wickets for MI.


Aiden Markram is at the captain of SRH, which has won four out of thirteen matches in this season. Unfortunately, in their last encounter against RCB, SRH suffered a loss despite putting up a formidable target of 186 runs. The bowlers from Hyderabad failed to dismantle the opposition's batting line-up, allowing them to chase down the score with ease and even before completing their inning. In the previous game, Klaasen played a blistering knock of 104 runs off just 51 balls, leading his team to set an impressive target. However, even such efforts were unable to help SRH's cause.

When MI and SRH last faced off in the 25th match of this season, MI emerged victorious with a comfortable 14-run lead. They managed to all-out SRH before their innings could be completed. MI set an impressive target of 192 runs and their bowlers, including Jason Behrendorff, Piyush Chawla, and Rilye Meredith, performed exceptionally well by taking two wickets each. On the other hand, SRH only managed to break down two wickets of MI and Marco Jansen claimed both of them. As per the current points table, MI is positioned at sixth place with 14 points while SRH is currently in last place with just 8 points.

The head-to-head record between MI vs SRH is worth noting
Over the course of past IPL seasons, the teams of MI and SRH have had a total of 20 encounters on the pitch. Out of these matches, MI emerged victorious in 11 games while SRH got success in 9.


Here are the details about the upcoming MI vs SRH game, the venue and pitch report
The upcoming match between MI and SRH will take place at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The pitch is an enigmatic battlefield for both batters and bowlers, where they will receive the assistance to dominate. Though the pitch usually inclines towards batters with its good pace and bounce, it can provide early movement and bounce to pacers. Stroke play is generally favored on this pitch, allowing a smooth ball-to-bat transition for batters.

Predictions for the winner of MI vs SRH and expectations from the game
MI, the star performer team in IPL history, has already won five seasons. This season also MI continues to display consistent performance and it will be fierce over SRH in the upcoming match. The batting and bowling line-ups of Mumbai Indians are formidable, while SRH struggles with their bowling line-up but manages to score decent targets. However, in the upcoming match, MI is highly likely to be the favorite to win against SRH.

Playing XI's
MI Playing XI: 
Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(wk), Cameron Green, Tim David, Piyush Chawla, Suryakumar Yadav, Nehal Wadhera, Chirs Jordan, Jason Behrendorff, Kumar kartikeya, Akash Madhwal
Impact Players:
 Vishnu Vinod, Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Tristan Stubbs, Sandeep Warrier

SRH Playing XIAiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen(wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harry Brook, Glenn Philips, Mayank Agarwal, Mayank Dagar, Nitish Reddy, Vivrant Sharma, Sanveer Singh, Umran Malik
Impact Players: Abhishek Sharma, Akeal Hosein, Rahul Tripathi, Abdul Samad, Mayank Markande

Latest Stories