PBKS vs DC IPL 2023 64th Match Highlights and Top Moments

On May 17, 2023, the Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals faced off in the 64th IPL match at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala. Ultimately, the Delhi Capitals emerged victorious, winning by a margin of 15 runs.

by Mohit Tharwan
PBKS vs DC IPL 2023 64th Match Highlights and Top Moments

The 64th match of IPL 2023 played between PBKS vs DC

Highlights from the match between the Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals

The 64th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was scheduled for May 17th, 2023, between Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala. Punjab Kings won the toss and chose to bowl first. Delhi Capitals batted first and scored 213 runs in 20 overs while losing only two wickets. Punjab Kings managed to score 198 runs in their 20 overs while losing eight wickets, resulting in a 15-run victory for Delhi Capitals. DC Rilee Rossouw named player of the match.

Delhi's opening batsmen had an excellent start during the powerplay. Shaw and Warner built a strong partnership, adding 61 runs to their team's total without losing any wickets. Shaw displayed an admirable performance, scoring a half-century with 54 runs off 38 balls, while Warner contributed 46 runs off 31 balls. After the dismissal of both openers, Rilee and Salt took charge and raised the score to 213 runs. Rilee's innings was exceptional, scoring 82 runs off just 37 balls, which included six boundaries and six sixes. Salt remained unbeaten and scored 26 runs. Both wickets were taken by Sam Curran from Punjab Kings.

While PBKS chasing the target of 214 runs, unfortunately lost Shikhar Dhawan without scoring any runs. However, Prabhsimran and Atharva had a good partnership of 50 runs. Prabhsimran scored 22 runs before being dismissed, while Atharva Tiade retired out after scoring 55 runs. Liam Livingstone played an explosive inning of 94 runs for 48 balls, which included five boundaries and nine sixers. DC's Anrich Nortje and Ishant Sharma took two wickets each, while Axar Patel and Khaleel Ahmed took one wicket each.

Short account of the history of the PBKS and DC Teams
PBKS, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, was established in 2008 and is co-owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. Although they have never won the IPL Title, they managed to secure the runner-up position in 2014. Similarly, DC was also founded in 2008 and is a joint venture between the GMR Group and the JSW Group. The team was previously called Delhi Daredevils but was renamed DC in December 2019. Despite their efforts, DC has not yet won the IPL championship, but they did come in second place in 2020.

The present status of teams and a detailed analysis of players
Shikhar Dhawan is leading PBKS while David Warner is leading DC. PBKS has been victorious in six out of the twelve matches played so far, whereas DC has won four. In the last confrontation, PBKS defeated DC by setting a target of 167 runs, which Delhi failed to achieve. The last match witnessed an explosive performance by Prabhsimran Singh, who scored 103 runs off 65 balls, leading PBKS to triumph. However, no other player could score much. Mukesh Kumar from DC dismissed Prabhsimran, while Ishant Sharma took two wickets. DC's David Warner played well, scoring 54 runs off 27 balls while chasing the target, but no other batter could perform well from Delhi. They scored 136 runs in return and lost to Punjab. PBKS's Harpreet Brar took four wickets, while Rahul Chahar and Nathan Ellis took two wickets each.

The head-to-head record between PBKS and DC is worth noting
Punjab and Delhi have faced each other 31 times in total. Punjab has won 16 times, while Delhi has won 15 times.

Here are the details about the upcoming PBKS vs DC game, the venue and pitch report
The upcoming PBKS vs DC match is scheduled to take place at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala. Known for its favorable combination of pace and bounce, the batting-friendly pitch at the stadium provides an ideal setting for stroke play. Batters can confidently play their shots due to the even bounce, and the speedy outfield helps the ball reach the boundaries. While spinners can expect some support from the pitch as the match progresses, recent matches have witnessed high-scoring games with substantial totals. Therefore, the team winning the toss may choose to bat first and set a commanding score, considering the pitch's nature.

Playing XI's
PBKS Playing XI:
Shikhar Dhawan(c), Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Rahul Chahar, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Arshdeep Singh, Jitesh Sharma(wk), Atharv Tiade, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada
Impact Players: Prabhsimran Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Sikandar Raza, Matthew Short, Mohit Rathe

DC's Playing XI: David Warner(c), Prithwi Shaw, Phil Salt(wk), Rilee Rossouw, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Axar Patel,  Khalil Ahmad, Yash Dhul
Impact Players:  Mukesh Kumar, Praveen Dubey, Sarafaraz Khan, Ripal Patel, Abhishek Porel

Latest Stories